Note from the Author

If you like what you see on Kauffmans Commentary, tell your friends and family to visit this site.
For all other requests, feedback, and suggestions, email Kauffman at

Friday, June 25, 2010

87 Senators Sign Letter to Obama

On June 21, 2010, eighty seven Senators signed a letter to President Obama affirming their support for the State of Israel and in particular Israel's right to defend herself. Unfortunately, Israel's right to defend herself has been questioned  and disregarded  by the international community as a result of  the fallout following the Flotilla incident.

The letter, sponsored by Senators Harry Reid and Mitch McConnell, contained the following language:

"We write to affirm our support for our strategic partnership with Israel, and encourage you to continue to do so before international organizations such as the United Nations. The United States has traditionally stood with Israel because it is in our national security interest and must continue to do so."

The entire letter can be read in full here.

A similar letter was signed by seventy six Senators in April urging President Obama to stand with Israel after the President snubbed Prime-Minister Netanyahu during his last visit to the White House.

This latest letter  had a more conciliatory tone which could explain why more Senators signed the letter this time.

Nevertheless, thirteen Senators did not sign the June 21st letter.

Here are the list of the Senators who did not sign the letter:

 1) Jim Webb (D- VA)
 2) Robert Byrd (D-WV)
 3) John Kerry (D-MA)
 4) Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
 5) Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
 6) Tom Udall (D-NM)
 7) Daniel Akaka (D-HI)
 8) Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)
 9) Christoper Dodd (D-CT)
10) Tom Harkin (D-IA)
11) Bernard Sanders (I-VT)
12) Jim Bunning  (R-KY)
13) Judd Gregg (R-NH)

Notice more D's in the non-signers category that R's.